Maarten A. Hajer

Professor Maarten A. Hajer Maarten_Hajer_1has been the director of PBL – Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency since October 2008. Maarten Hajer is professor of Public Policy at the University of Amsterdam since 1998, which he currently continues part time. He is also Honorary Professor at the University of Copenhagen and member of UNEP’s International Resource Panel (IRP). Hajer is the author of over ten books and many articles and contributions to books. Best known are ‘The Politics of Environmental Discourse’ (Oxford, 1995); ‘Living with Nature’ (Oxford 1999; eds. with Frank Fischer); ‘In Search of New Public Domain’ (Rotterdam, 2001, with Arnold Reijndorp); ‘Deliberative Policy Analysis – Understanding Governance in the Network Society’ (Cambridge, 2003, editor together with Hendrik Wagenaar). In 2009 he published ‘Authoritative Governance: Policy Making in the Age of Mediatization’ (Oxford University Press). In 2010 he published ‘Strong Stories – how the Dutch reinvent their Planning Practice’ (010-Publishers, Rotterdam, editor together with Jantine Grijzen en Susan van ‘t Klooster). For PBL he wrote the essay ‘The Energetic Society’ (2011) which connects his expertise to the wealth of knowledge at PBL.

Hajer holds MA degrees in Urban and Regional Planning (UvA, 1987), Political Science (UvA, 1988); as well as a D.Phil. in Politics (University of Oxford, 1993). During the 1990s he worked as researcher at the Leyden Institute for Law and Public Policy (1991- 1993); as ‘wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter’ with Ulrich Beck at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat in Munich (1993-1996); and as senior researcher at the Scientific Council for Government Policy (WRR), The Hague (1996-1998) after which he was appointed Chair at the UvA. He fulfilled many societal roles such as member of the VROM-raad, the advisory board to the former Ministry of Public Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment, The Hague, jury member for the International Spinoza Price in philosophy, the EO Weijersprijsvraag in landscape architecture and EUROPAN, the European price for architects under 35. Currently he is amongst others board member of the Rotterdam Maaskant Prize for Architecture.

Leave a Reply